Introduction

Quality of care is our no. 1 priority

Improving the quality of our care is the primary focus of all HUG employees, caregivers and doctors, of course, in all aspects of their daily work. It is therefore a key responsibility of the Medical and Quality Directorate as well as the Care Directorate. The Vision 20/20 Clinical Excellence and Quality plan is mandated by both departments to certify that the quality of care is up to medical and nursing standards.

The list shows the key achievements of the past 20 years in the pursuit of a true culture of quality at the HUG. To better publicize the HUG's results in this field, the quality report - which you hold in your hands - provides an overview of the situation at the beginning of 2018, though doesn't claim to be exhaustive.

As part of its continuous improvement approach, in 2016 the HUG revamped and reinforced its Quality and Safety Commission, which is chaired by the undersigned. The Commission's job is to put forward strategies for improving the quality and safety of care, to establish priorities in terms of the quality policy, to ensure that targets are achieved, and to suggest and support employee training programs in this field.

The HUG quality policy draws on the work of the Care Quality Division, the Infection Prevention and Control Division (FR), the Research and Quality sector of the Care Directorate, and the network of Quality Officers  present in each department.

It also considers other factors such as patient satisfaction, which has been evaluated regularly since 2001. The experiences of patients and their relatives, whose comments, suggestions and grievances have been collected in the Mediation Center since 2007, are also essential. Finally, the policy can draw on the contribution of patients and relatives who are part of the Patient as Partners platform, implemented in 2016.

Despite all the initiatives put in place to improve the quality of care, we know there is still room for improvement. The publication of this report should not be seen as proof of a mission accomplished, or a glowing account of our work. On the contrary, it is confirmation of our firm intention to continue our efforts towards the creation of an ever-better hospital.

signature Arnaud Perrier                       signature Sandra Merkli
  Arnaud Perrier,                          
 Medical Director                          
Sandra Merkli,
Director of Care

 

Last update : 29/01/2019

Introduction

La qualité des soins est notre premier objectif

L’amélioration de la qualité des soins est une priorité à laquelle s’attelle quotidiennement l’ensemble des collaborateurs des HUG, soignants et médecins en tête. C’est donc une mission essentielle de la direction médicale et qualité et de la direction des soins. D’ailleurs, le projet Excellence clinique et qualité de Vision 20/20 est mandaté par les deux directions métier pour attester que la qualité des soins ne peut être que médico soignante.

Le tracé qui figure en lien recense d’ailleurs les principales réalisations de ces 20 dernières années pour instaurer une véritable culture de la qualité aux HUG. Afin de mieux faire connaître les résultats des HUG dans ce domaine, le rapport qualité, dresse un état des lieux de la question en ce début de 2018, sans prétention d’exhaustivité.

Dans le cadre de cette dynamique d’amélioration continue, les HUG ont réformé et renforcé en 2016 la Commission qualité et sécurité qui est présidée par les soussignés. Elle a pour missions de proposer des stratégies d’amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité, d’établir les priorités en termes de politique qualité, de s’assurer que les objectifs soient atteints et de proposer et soutenir des programmes de formation des collaborateurs dans ce domaine.

La politique qualité des HUG peut s’appuyer sur le service qualité des soins, le service de prévention et de contrôle de l’infection, le secteur recherche et qualité de la direction des soins, ainsi que sur le réseau des Quality officers présents dans chaque département.

Elle prend également en compte d’autres facteurs tels que la satisfaction des patients qui est évaluée régulièrement depuis 2001. Le vécu des patients et de leurs proches dont les remarques, suggestions et doléances sont recueillies depuis 2007 dans l’Espace médiation sont également essentiels. Enfin, elle peut s’appuyer sur l’apport des patients et de leurs proches qui font partie de la plateforme Patients partenaires mise en oeuvre en 2016.

Malgré toutes les initiatives mises en place pour améliorer la qualité des soins, nous savons qu’il demeure un potentiel d’amélioration. La publication de ce rapport ne saurait être considérée comme un satisfecit. Au contraire, il confirme notre ferme intention de poursuivre nos efforts qui tendent vers la création d’un hôpital toujours meilleur.

Arnaud Perrier,                          
Directeur médical

Sandra Merkli,
Directrice des soins

Dernière mise à jour : 12/06/2019