Pr Pierre-Yves Dietrich

Dr. Pierre-Yves Dietrich is full professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Geneva and chairman of the Department of Oncology at the Geneva University Hospitals. He is co-director of the Swiss Cancer Center Léman (SCCL).

Pierre-Yves Dietrich obtained his Advanced Federal Diploma of Higher Education in Medicine from the University of Geneva in 1982, and his doctorate in 1986. After training in internal medicine, he decided to specialize in hematology-oncology in Geneva and at the Institut Gustave Roussy (IGR) in France. In 1991, he obtained a degree in immunopathology at the Institut Pasteur in France and became co-head of the IGR Unit of Immunotherapy. In 1993, he returned to the Geneva University Hospitals and founded the Laboratory of Tumor Immunology with a focus on brain tumor immunology. His research group is providing innovative work in this area, paving the way for the clinical development of therapeutic vaccines and T-cell therapy for patients suffering from brain tumors. For more than 30 years, he has been active both as a clinician and researcher, promoting interactions between biologists and physicians to build translational medicine.

At the Geneva University Hospitals, Pierre-Yves Dietrich became head of Medical Oncology in 2010. Under his input, the Cancer Centre was built in 2012 as one of the HUG Centres of Excellence, a cross-functional entity bringing together activities from different departments. The creation of this Centre enabled the development of a multidisciplinary approach to cancer care. Pierre-Yves Dietrich’s efforts also led to the establishment of the Department of Oncology in 2017, bringing together Medical Oncology, Haematology and Radio-Oncology under one roof. 

The recipient of many national and international awards in oncology, he was named Cancer Researcher of the Year by the Gateway for Cancer Research in the USA in 2013. He is the author and co-author of over 230 scientific articles.

Prof. Dietrich teaches oncology in a way that is humanistic, integrative and person-centered. He is very involved in raising awareness with authorities about social problems linked to cancer and currently focuses on the development of the Swiss Cancer Center Léman, a lemanic concept of comprehensive cancer care and research.

Last update : 06/11/2019

Pr Pierre-Yves Dietrich

Le Pr Pierre-Yves Dietrich est professeur ordinaire à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Genève et chef du Département d’oncologie des Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève. Il est co-directeur du Swiss Cancer Center Léman (SCCL).

Pierre-Yves Dietrich obtient son diplôme fédéral de médecine en 1982 à l’Université de Genève et son doctorat en 1986. Après une formation en médecine interne, il décide de se spécialiser en hémato-oncologie à Genève et à l’Institut Gustave Roussy (IGR) en France. En 1991, il obtient le diplôme d’immunopathologie à l’Institut Pasteur en France et devient co-responsable de l’Unité d’immunothérapie de l’IGR. En 1993, il revient aux Hôpitaux universitaires de Genève et crée le laboratoire de recherche en immunologie des tumeurs centré sur les tumeurs cérébrales. Les résultats obtenus par son équipe sont novateurs, ouvrant la voie au développement clinique de vaccins thérapeutiques et à la thérapie cellulaire pour les patients souffrant de tumeurs cérébrales. Depuis plus de 30 ans, il est actif à la fois comme clinicien et comme chercheur, favorisant les interactions entre biologie et médecine pour développer la médecine translationnelle.

Aux Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève, Pierre-Yves Dietrich devient chef du Service d'oncologie en 2010. Sous son impulsion, le Centre des cancers est créé en 2012 comme l'un des centres d'excellence des HUG, une entité multidisciplinaire regroupant les activités de différents départements. La création de ce centre permet le renforcement  d'une approche multidisciplinaire systématique de la prise en charge des patients.  Les efforts de Pr Pierre-Yves Dietrich conduisent également à la création du Département d'oncologie en 2017, réunissant l'oncologie médicale, l'hématologie et la radiooncologie sous un même toit. 

Lauréat de nombreux prix nationaux et internationaux en oncologie, il est nommé en 2013 Cancer researcher of the year par le Gateway for Cancer Research aux USA. Il est auteur ou co-auteur de plus de 230 articles scientifiques. 

Le Pr Dietrich enseigne une oncologie humaniste, intégrative et centrée sur l’individu. Il est très impliqué dans la sensibilisation des autorités sur les problèmes sociétaux liés au cancer. Il est aussi très engagé dans la construction d’un esprit lémanique (Swiss Cancer Center Léman) en créant des synergies entre les ressources et les équipes des pôles hospitaliers et universitaires genevois et vaudois autour d’un objectif commun  d’excellence, pour offrir à l a population l’accès aux traitements innovants, et améliorer l’attractivité et la visibilité de la région lémanique et de ses institutions.

Dernière mise à jour : 06/11/2019