Service

Care quality and safety are our priorities. We also strive to provide our patients and their relatives with the most pleasant conditions for their admission and stay. The spirit of service at HUG is a series of "little pluses" that make going to the hospital easier for you.

Hospital Comfort

The needs and preferences of patients hospitalized at HUG are respected and fulfilled as best as possible. These services will be available via menus over the WiFi network, which is available free of charge, from the school to the hospital for sick children, the interpreting service for foreign-language patients or even the drop-in childcare center for visitors, without forgetting the HUG Chaplain, to cater to the spiritual needs of patients.

The mediation space in cases of conflict between HUG and patients, or to even help in drafting advance directives in certain divisions are also part of HUG's concern in supporting the patient in all aspects of their journey in connection with health problems.

HUG is also engaged in major projects designed to redefine the hospital of tomorrow (FR).

Information to Patients as Care Partners

Care services are encouraged to offer their patients relevant and accessible information documents. They are guided and supported in this high-quality brochure and video design work, in accordance with international standards in effect, by the patients and relatives information group (GIPP) that includes doctors, nurses and health communication specialists.
The documents produced are scientifically validated and tested with patients.

Welcome and Accommodation for Relatives

It means a lot to HUG that families can be with patients. Indeed, caring for patients, young and old, also means ensuring  the presence of their relatives by their side.

HUG is very sensitive to this, especially in pediatrics, where the experience of hospitalization, both for the child and their family, is proof that separation can make things more painful. In contrast, the comforting presence of parents promotes healing as it has been shown in several studies.

On May 3, 2011 HUG inaugurated a second Geneva Ronald McDonald House (FR), in partnership with the foundation of the same name. This "home away from home" has five comfortable rooms capable of accommodating four people each. The opening of this second house doubles the capacity and responds to a real need. About150 families are hosted each year to be close to their sick child.

In the same spirit and with the support of private donors, similar projects have been implemented in Maternity and  at Bellerive Hospital.

In Maternity, three hotel rooms close to the Neonatal Unit, eliminate the stress in mothers that would be created if there was a separation during the first hours of life.

At Bellerive Hospital,  where close to 750 patients each year stay in the Palliative Care Division,a studio welcomes relatives who wish to be present day and night with a loved one, and offers them a space to relax.

Service

Qualité et sécurité des soins sont notre priorité. Nous nous efforçons aussi d'offrir à nos patients et à leurs proches les conditions d'accueil et de séjour les plus agréables possible. L'esprit de service aux HUG, c'est toute une série de « plus » qui vous facilite l'hôpital.

Confort hospitalier

Les besoins et les préférences des patients hospitalisés aux HUG sont respectés et exaucés dans toute la mesure du possible. Ces prestations vont des menus à choix au réseau wifi mis gratuitement à disposition, en passant par l’école à l’hôpital pour les enfants malades, le service d’interprétariat pour les patient de langue étrangère ou encore la halte-garderie pour les visiteurs, sans oublier l'aumônerie des HUG, à l'écoute du patient dans sa dimension spirituelle.

L'espace de médiation en cas de conflit entre les HUG et les patients, ou encore l'aide à la rédaction de directives anticipées dans certains services sont également partie intégrante du souci des HUG d'accompagner le patient dans toutes les aspects de son cheminement en lien avec un problème de santé.

Les HUG sont également engagés dans des chantiers majeurs amenés à redéfinir l'hôpital de demain.

Information aux patients en tant que partenaires des soins

Les services de soins sont encouragés à proposer à leurs patients des documents d'information pertinents et accessibles. Ils sont accompagnés et soutenus dans ce travail de conception de brochures et de vidéos de qualité, conformes aux critères internationaux en vigueur, par le groupe d'information patients et proches (GIPP) qui comprend des médecins, des infirmiers et des spécialistes de la communication en santé.
Les documents produits font l'objet d'une validation scientifique et sont testés auprès des patients.

Accueil et l’hébergement des proches

Les HUG ont particulièrement à cœur que les familles puissent se trouver auprès des patients. En effet, soigner l’accueil des patients, petits et grands, c’est aussi se préoccuper  de la présence à leurs côtés de leurs proches.

Les HUG y sont très sensibles, en particulier en pédiatrie, où l’expérience d’une hospitalisation, tant pour l’enfant que pour sa famille, constitue une épreuve que la séparation peut rendre encore plus douloureuse. A l’opposé, la présence réconfortante des parents favorise la guérison comme l’ont montré plusieurs études.

Le 3 mai 2011, les HUG ont inauguré une deuxième Maison Ronald McDonald genevoise, en partenariat avec la Fondation du même nom. Ce « foyer loin de chez soi » met à disposition cinq chambres confortables capables de recevoir chacune quatre personnes. L’ouverture de cette deuxième demeure double la capacité d’accueil et répond à un réel besoin. Quelque 150 familles sont hébergées chaque année au plus près de leur enfant malade.

Dans le même esprit et avec le soutien de donateurs privés, des projets similaires ont été réalisés à la Maternité et  à l’Hôpital de Bellerive.

A la Maternité, trois chambres hôtelières, proches de la néonatalogie, évitent aux mamans le stress que causerait une séparation dès les premières heures de la vie.

A l’Hôpital de Bellerive,  où près de 750 patients séjournent chaque année dans le service de soins palliatifs, un studio accueille les proches qui souhaitent être présents jour et nuit auprès d’un être cher, et leur offre un espace pour se ressourcer.